In this section:

New Housing Minister appointed 24/11/2023

As part of the government reshuffle announced on 13 November, Rachel Maclean MP was sacked as Minister for Housing and replaced by Lee Rowley MP, who becomes the 16th holder of this office since 2010. Rowley, who is MP for North East Derbyshire, was previously Housing Minister during Liz Truss's brief Premiership, but was moved sideways within DLUHC in November 2022 to make way for Lucy Frazer, who was replaced by Rachel Maclean in February this year. In October, in his previous DLUHC role as junior local government minister, Rowley was responsible for ordering councils to immediately cease trialling 4-day weeks.


Here is a list of Housing Ministers since 2010 together with the length of time they held the post:


  • Grant Shapps (2 years and 4 months)
  • Mark Prisk (1 year and 1 month)
  • Kris Hopkins (9 months)
  • Brandon Lewis (2 years)
  • Gavin Barwell (11 months)
  • Alok Sharma (7 months)
  • Dominic Raab (6 months)
  • Kit Malthouse (1 year)
  • Esther McVey (7 months)
  • Chris Pincher (2 years)
  • Stuart Andrew (5 months)
  • Marcus Jones (2 months)
  • Lee Rowley (7 weeks)
  • Lucy Frazer (3 months)
  • Rachel Maclean (7 months)
  • Lee Rowley


Ministerial appointments: November 2023

Government calls time on councils running four-day weeks

Like emailLink
ARCH Member Comments 0 people like this