In this section:

ARCH annual report


The ARCH annual report for 2015-16 is now available to view.


Download it here.

New Ministerial Team at DCLG 14/05/2015

Prime Minister, David Cameron, has confirmed the new Ministerial team at the Department of Communities & Local Government. Greg Clark and Brandon Lewis have been named as the new Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government and Minister for Housing respectively.


Details of the new Ministerial Team are as follows:


Greg Clark: Secretary of State


Greg Clark has been named as the new Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government and replaces Eric Pickles as who held the post in the previous coalition government. He is Conservative MP for Royal Tunbridge Wells and was previously Minister for Universities and Science in the last coalition government. Born in Middlesbrough, he studied economics at Cambridge before earning his PhD from the London School of Economics.


Mr Clark was Director of Policy for the Conservative Party from March 2001 for three successive Leaders; William Hague, Iain Duncan Smith and Michael Howard, before being elected as the Member of Parliament for Tunbridge Wells in 2005.


Before entering politics, he worked for the Boston Consulting Group, one of the world's top business strategy firms. He was posted to the USA, Mexico, South America and Iceland, as well as working for clients in the UK. He has also worked as Head of Commercial Policy at the BBC.


Brandon Lewis: Minister of State for Communities & Local Government with responsibility for housing & planning.


Conservative MP for Great Yarmouth, Mr Lewis continues in the role of Housing Minister - the post he held in the previous coalition government since July 2014. He holds a BSc Economics and LLB Hons (Law) from the University of Buckingham. He also holds an LLM in commercial law from Kings College London.

A qualified barrister and company director, he served on Brentwood Borough Council for more than 10 years with 5 as Leader.


The Rest of the Ministerial Team at DCLG

  • Mark Francois: Minister of state for Communities & Local Government, with responsibility for coastal communities
  • Marcus Jones: Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Local Government)
  • James Wharton: Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, with responsibility for the Northern Powerhouse
  • Baroness Williams of Trafford: Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (responsibilities to be confirmed) 

Like emailLink
ARCH Member Comments 3 people like this