In this section:

ARCH annual report


The ARCH annual report for 2015-16 is now available to view.


Download it here.

UK Housing Awards 2019 22/11/2018

ARCH would like to draw ARCH member councils' attention to the UK Housing Awards, which are organised by the Chartered Institute of Housing and Inside Housing each year.


ARCH is keen to ensure that councils are well represented in the awards and the organisers are particularly interested in promoting entries to the council of the year category.


The organisers are looking for local authorities that have used their strategic role to provide leadership, facilitate housing development and meet local housing need. Entrants don't necessarily have to have delivered new homes directly, or to manage stock themselves. Judges are looking for evidence of councils working closely with partners and joining up their housing offer with other services, for the benefit of residents and are looking for entries that:


  • Summarise local housing need and how the council has responded
  • Provide detail of how you have worked closely with partners to provide local leadership and to drive forward a committed approach to meeting housing need in your area
  • Show how your housing offer links effectively with other services to the demonstrable benefit of your communities
  • Provide evidence/measures of success, ideally with contextual data (sector averages etc).
  • Why has the past year been particularly outstanding? (This should be linked to performance and objectives, rather than a milestone such as an anniversary.)


Councils are also eligible for most other categories too, including landlord of the year, DLO of the year, homebuilder of the year, digital landlord, campaign, resident training and employment award, innovator of the year and inclusivity pioneer.


All too often entries for the UK Housing Awards are dominated by the Private Registered Providers and ALMO sectors and it is important that councils demonstrate the excellent work done by local councils and the stock retained sector in particular.


It is easy to enter; all member councils need to do is decide which category they want to enter and then click here to enter.


The deadline is 29 November 2018 and the ceremony takes place on 1 May 2019 at the Grosvenor, Park Lane.


Like emailLink
ARCH Member Comments 0 people like this